Not ready (yet)

In the past I’ve heard people come out with the old cliche “I’m just not ready for a long term relationship” and always thought ‘what a cop-out’. It’s not been until now, at the ripe age of 31, that I understand its “a thing”. 

I’ve been dating a girl I knew from school for a few months now. I thought that after such a long drawn out break up, 6 months no contact and a seemingly improving mood I was OK to start seeing someone regularly. It seemed fine, she was stunning, kind and thoughtful yet as the months progressed, and she seemed to get serious, I found myself feeling stressed out. I couldn’t put my finger on why really. We had good sex, we had good nights out and had shared interests yet I had this underlying disinterest. I just couldn’t muster up any enthusiasm for the relationship. I wouldn’t look forward to seeing her like I did my sociopath ex and I found myself thinking about the differences which was unacceptable. I wasn’t being fair to her or myself – I’m not ready. 

I explained that I’m not ready for a serious relationship and she kind of understood but didn’t sound very happy. I had to tell her and end things before they progressed and I ended up really hurting her. I liken it to a crack addict trying to get the same buzz from a can of red bull; Its not going to suffice. That’s not me saying that this drug is something I want or need as its harmful and would have ultimately killed me. I have to face that my character is (no – was) addicted to these types of girl. Its too soon in my recovery to start dating. I haven’t managed to heal myself in order to appreciate the right kind of girl yet. The girl I was seeing recently may well be the type of girl I need in a years time but for now – I need to be alone. 

I understand that my psychopathic ex wasn’t a real person. I know that she wasn’t a soul mate and that we never really had all of those shared interests etc but I’m obviously still grieving and coming to terms with that reality and ultimately the loss. 

Leave a Reply

